Reflection 211: Book Excerpts 8-11

April 4, 2011

Copyright © 2011 by Steve Perrin

From KNOW THYSELF: Adventures in Getting to Know My Own Mind by Steve Perrin. Available on Lulu.com.

8. I don’t know how, but consciousness lets me stand above myself and look down on the workings of my own mind as if they were laid out in front of me as a kind of map of the landscape inside my head. (Preface, x.)

9. Life is lived one life at a time, each different from all others. (Preface, x.)

10. Consciousness . . . defies the essence of scientific study aimed at finding universal laws which can be generalized to all conscious beings. Our individuality is our hallmark, every mind bearing the stamp of singular awareness. (Preface, x.)

11. Apart from thoughtful observers, the universe as a coherent whole does not exist. (Preface, x.)

 

Leave a Reply

