Reflection 214: Book Excerpts 20-22

April 11, 2011

Copyright © 2011 by Steve Perrin

From KNOW THYSELF: Adventures in Getting to Know My Own Mind by Steve Perrin. Available on Lulu.com.

20. Where do words come from, that they can be so affecting from afar? I don’t even know where my own words come from when I open my mouth to speak, or sit at a computer as I am doing now, writing this very sentence. They flow from my mind, that I know, and within it from the dynamic forces making up the situation I believe myself to be in at the time. (Preface, xiii.)

21. I view the rush of modern American life as the enemy of introspection and knowing my own mind, which takes time to get the hang of and to savor. So much to do, so little time. What a sad little story, as if we are born to scurry around doing errands and not conduct our own lives. (Preface, xv.)

22. Whose life are we expected to live,  anyway? Not our own, certainly. Thoreau liked a broad margin around his inner life, and today such leeway is hard to find because social pressures leave little room for musing and self-direction as alternatives to rushing to work, to school, to shopping at the mall. See ya, gotta go. (Preface, xv.)

 

Leave a Reply

