Reflection 221: Book Excerpts 40-42

April 27, 2011

Copyright © 2011 by Steve Perrin

From KNOW THYSELF: Adventures in Getting to Know My Own Mind by Steve Perrin. Available on Lulu.com.

40. It helps me to remember that such perspectives are a contribution made by the evolutionary descendants of worms, worms now having not only alimentary canals but backbones supporting arms and legs as well, appendages enabling us to stand up and look around at the richness of what our senses allow us to discover and our minds make meaningful. (Introduction, p. xxviii.)

41. My first chapter . . . is based on instances when I have misjudged or misunderstood situations that seemed perfectly obvious until I was undeceived, or managed to undeceive myself. The world is what I make of it, not what it is in and of itself. (Introduction, p. xxviii.)

42. How I do that is the matter I deal with in these pages as drawn from my personal experience. (Introduction, p. xxviii.)

 

Leave a Reply

