Reflection 230: Book Blurb

November 26, 2011

Copyright © 2011

The art of knowing one’s mind is to track its engagements within a challenging situation that is personally significant. The problematic nature of that challenge kindles consciousness in the first place. Once aware of the problem, we can watch our minds wrestling with how best to respond. In this book, I offer curiosity as the desirable approach, trial and error as a workable method, and self-awareness as the overall goal.

In the process, I discover several dimensions of my personal consciousness revealed in sequential order. First comes expectancy, then attention, followed by sensory figures at a useful level of detail. Leading to interpretation of those figures, their understanding within a framework of feelings and values, advancing to judgments based on the foregoing dimensions that culminate in further planning and appropriate action.

The result of this introspective method is awareness of my mental engagement with difficult situations I get myself into at various levels of my mind such as reflexes, habits, ideology, or full conscious analysis. Novelty, surprise, and curiosity promote consciousness; frustration, disengagement, and depression suppress it. Steered by personal feelings and values, consciousness empowers us to make ourselves happen in the world.

Owning up to perceptual mistakes I have made in the past, I take responsibility for the workings of my own mind, producing smoother engagements in situations that make me who I am. I dedicate the book To Occupy Wall Street and the 99 percent—to all who are working to make a better life for themselves.

Leave a Reply

