Reflection 340: Yoda Lives!

September 23, 2014

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

At least I’m as old as Yoda. I buried my two brothers in July, 2014, and am now the last man standing in my generation of three brothers. I blog about consciousness, and what I am conscious of is a strong sense of absence. How is that possible, to be conscious of absence? Of what’s missing? The old routines I used to take so for granted. The old attitudes, assumptions, things I thought I could count on. All gone missing. Forever.

Truth is, I’m now a new person. The old me is dead. And all the baggage I lugged with me is not in the closet. Starting from scratch, like digging a new garden. Stay tuned for news of what springs up in my personal plot.

One thing for sure, I’m a wayfarer. It’s official. Last Monday I hiked six miles in Acadia National Park. Today I hiked another six miles on a beautiful fall day. What’s spring up is a new me. Same man, only different, with a new outlook on life. I was born a wayfarer, to find my own way, but only recently realized that’s who I am. Navigator. Steersman. Helmsman. In charge of my own journey through life. That’s what consciousness is for, getting around so we can find the things, people, experiences, engagements that we need. We are born to steer our legs where we want to go to obtain these thing. Our hands being free to do the work we are born to do.

Why didn’t I realize that sooner? Consciousness is our means of connecting perception to action so that we steer our way to becoming the people we want to be. Well, now that’s me. I’ve joined the crowd of seekers searching for the world they want to live in. Making that world an actuality for themselves. In spite of all the nonsense that the media cover all around the world. Now I see that we’ve all got to make such worlds for ourselves by steering toward them as best we can.

More later. Take care on your Journey.

Leave a Reply

